Dragonfly Shawl

Dragonfly3

I’m making Sharon Winsauer’s Dragonfly Shawl. I don’t like the edging in the original, though, so I’m designing my own. I’m keeping the original shape, but neatening up the lace. I found a shawl from Margaret Stove’s ‘Wrapped In Lace’ with a diamond motif that reminds me of the diamonds in the original pattern, so this is my basis for the edging. I stretched out the diamond motif to get it close to the original row count of a pattern repeat, added a row of double yo’s (the original edging had LOTS of these), and a bunch of double yo-flowers. Swatched the new idea, and I think it’ll work!

Dragonfly4

Since this swatch, I jammed several more double yo flowers in, but I have not started with my original yarn. More status posts to come!

dragonfly_edging

Leave a Reply

